Nowadays online shopping has become more popular than in-store shopping. Is it a positive or a negative development?

An accelerating trend in how people purchase goods which has emerged recently is online shopping. This essay believes such tendency might result in both positive and negative effects. As for the positive side, what we gain from online purchasing is the amount of time saved that we can use to do other chores. Another time-saving, as well as effort saving, benefit is the ability to browse several shops simultaneously, which would be troublesome, let alone the consumption of fuel. Holding a smartphone on their hands, buyers can also compare the prices between retailers and make the best decision for their budget. If those buyers want to make sure that the products they receive are of good quality, feedback from other customers will paint a picture and help with the task of deciding. Having said that, it is important that we are aware of the potential problems with e-commerce. Suppose a person ordered a pair of jeans over the Internet and they were ill-fitting. The whole process of returning and refunding would be more trouble than it’s worth. A second problem lies in scammers who post a product for sale, but the received product does not look like the initial advertisement. These scammers will, at any cost, refuse to return the payment, blame customers, or even break off contact. On top of that, barely can we distinguish between good and bad melons or avocados if we cannot squeeze those foods on our hands. In conclusion, online shopping offers greater benefits to customers when compared to in-store purchases. Clearly, while it converts shopping into a hassle free experience, shopping over the internet is increasingly convenient, too. Therefore, I think this is definitely a positive trend and the popularity of online shopping is likely to continue.