In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In order to construct a modern place, nowadays many provinces tend to wreck out old structures and replace with the new ones. In my view, destructing second -hand buildings may have both disadvantages and advantages which relate to many aspects such as the civilization, pollution, the economic status of its local area. To begin with the drawbacks of collapsing old buildings, firstly, the pollution effect. In other words, when a house, for example, is destructed, this probably creates a huge amount of dust, ashes, and noise impacting deeply to the civilization living nearby. Furthermore, if people absorb too much ashes to their body, sooner or later, this will cause many problems against them, especially the lung cancer. In addition, many contractors like to use wreckers to collapse a structure, for instance, a house because this is the cheapest way for both the contractor and the customer. The point is vibration caused by that will also damage the existing structures nearby. Thus, we have to consider carefully its impacts before conducting demolishing work. On the other hand, the reason why many people choose to destroy the outdated one and replace with the new one because this will save their budget as the price of maintaining a structure is usually more expensive and complicate than collapse it. Moreover, this will supply more space for site team conduct their work. For example, New Yorkers prefer destroying their old house than keeping it. In conclusion, I am convinced that its disadvantages outweigh its advantages because of the above reasons. This is reliant on how old the buildings are, actually, the more age it is, the more more drawbacks it has on the destruction method. So, we should be carefully concerned before making decisions in order to optimize our benefits.