Many people think that it is better to get advice from old rather than young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing tendency to seek advice from older, instead of younger people. In my opinion, this is prudent because older people are less narcissistic and have more mature viewpoints. Recent research has confirmed the suspicion that our seniors are less self-involved. Just as children begin as complete narcissists incapable of feeling empathy, young people must also work through trauma, hurtful pride and delusions to become healthy. When you get a job, work as part of a team, form friendships and have lovers, you will naturally uncover your unhealthy drives and slowly replace them with socially constructive ones. This expanded confidence and self-growth allows you to truly listen to what others are saying and be capable of giving sound advice disentangled from personal insecurities. The other reason that older people give better advice is that they have opinions shaped through years of experience. Young people tend to be more idealistic and less willing to consider what is pragmatic. If an individual has had a family, they will have to navigate work/life balance issues, raising a child, intimacy, and financial obstacles. They will develop coping mechanisms and methods to deal with these problems and be able to pass them on to anyone in search of guidance. Young people could give similar advice, but since it is not based on experience and has not been tested, it is less likely to be effective. In conclusion, a settled temperament and experience are the factors that favour the counsel of older people. As young people become old people, it is increasingly likely they will see the veracity of this.