Topic: In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, owing to advancements and breakthroughs in science, humans no longer need to use animals for the production of basic necessities. I strongly agree with this idea as modern technologies enable human beings to replace animal products with a wide range of substitutes. Various alternatives to meat are found in the food industry. With the abundant availability of vegetable-based foods, people can curb their consumption of meat by switching to a plant-based diet. This substitute not only contains sufficient amounts of nutrients needed, but also helps to minimize the risk of potential health issues such as heart diseases or cancer. For example, tofu is a rich source of essential nutrients like protein and iron, making it a versatile ingredient with a host of health benefits. Moreover, scientists have successfully produced lab-grown meat, a promising alternative ripe for further study. In terms of clothing, there are textile products, both synthetic and natural, such as polyester and linen that are not from animal origin. Considering the unimaginable cruelty of abusing and killing animals for their fur, people should take artificial fabrics into consideration. Moreover, these alternative materials often have increased durability, strength and resistance compared to natural fibres. With regard to the pharmaceutical industry, efforts are under way to develop computer simulation models to test the safety of new drugs or cancer treatments. In this way, experiments that plague numerous animals can be avoided. In conclusion, I believe that animal-derived products have become unnecessary as they can be replaced by vegetarian food, artificial clothing materials or computer simulations.