Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Nowadays many people are struggling with their weight, and obesity is always more common. I strongly believe that this is one of the main problems of our society and that we should be concerned about these kinds of diseases. Although some people would argue that health depends on individuals’ lifestyles, I tend to say that society and the economy influence eating habits. Firstly, many adults don’t ever walk and they prefer to move by car. That’s because many cities are not pedestrian-friendly. For instance, in the US, where the obesity rate hit a peak, many towns and neighbourhoods don’t even have sidewalks or proper paths in order to go for a walk or to jog. Secondly, at the moment, due to inflation, many healthy foods, like fruits and vegetables, are really expensive and a lot of poorer families and young adults can’t actually afford them. As a result, they are discouraged from buying them, and instead, they choose high-calorie snacks. This situation is alarming because many people suffer from physical health illnesses and mental diseases. First and foremost, overweight individuals are more exposed to many risks due to their unhealthy conditions. For example, heart failure is more common among the obese. However, physical illnesses aren’t the only issue. Many individuals, and many children in particular, are depressed due to their weight. The main reason is that they are usually bullied and they struggle even more to change because they are very fragile and mentally weak. In conclusion, at the moment obesity is really concerning and society should be more aware of its effects. Inactive lifestyle and the cost of healthy foods are the causes of this situation. As a result, a high percentage of the population suffers from mental and physical diseases.