Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Athletes represent a popular public figure and are considered role models for many youths today. Many individuals believe that; it is acceptable for the sports-person to behave badly at their will provided that they have a successful sports career. This essay will further discuss the disagreement with the aforementioned statement. It is crucial for any individual working in the field of entertainment to maintain its reputation. This is important, because they set an example for younger minds. When a sportsman or a sportswoman is caught using abusive words in public, it implies that adopting such tactics are perks of success by the young generation. For instance, recently a renowned Indian cricket team captain Virakt Kohli was captured using an abusive word on-field. Such behaviour should be discouraged and must be considered as a punishable offence by the cricket authorities. Moreover, it is also important for the sports professional to establish a reputation off-field. Many sportsmen today are labelled with the tag of drug abusers. There are examples of the Olympic players using steroids to increase their efficiency on the day of their sport. Encouraging such shortcuts would leave a detrimental impact on the youths. When a sports individual associated with such drug abusive activities, it affects the brands they endorse. The reputation of the branding company is at stake when its brand ambassador is caught in rave parties. To sum up, for a sports-person to have a successful career and a good public image is necessary. Taking advantage of the privileges they are being offered, doesn’t allow them to misbehave in public as well as professionally. Such type of behaviour must be controlled as it may pose a negative impact