Some people think the best way to improve road safety is to lower the maximum speed limit. Others think that there are better alternative ways to do that. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Despite the fact that it has been pointed out that lowering the limitation of maximum speed is the most effective method in improving traffic safety, some individuals suggest that there are several other approaches to achieve this goal. Personally, I thoroughly agree with the latter idea as raising the awareness of unsafe road behaviours is the most useful way. On the one hand, some people argue that reducing the speed limit is extremely beneficial to road safety. This is because when driving at a low speed, cars can stop more quickly, which allows drivers to have more time to make decisions and control their vehicles, leading to a drop in the number of car crashes. For instance, in China, a police officer states that almost half of the car accidents are caused by excessive speeding since vehicles need more time to stop with a higher driving speed, and most drivers are unable to take action to prevent incidents from happening within just several seconds. If the authorities are able to adjust the maximum driving speed to a lower limit, there will be a significant reduction in annual accidents. On the other hand, other individuals, including me, believe that a huge number of other methods can be performed to make roads safer, such as improving ordinary people’s awareness of safety. The reason is that a vast majority of incidents are caused by the lack of safety consciousness, and if the government can launch educational programmes or campaigns to persuade the general public to understand the dangers of traffic accidents, it will be helpful in a decline in accident rates. As an illustration, a pedestrian who ignored traffic rules says that he was struck by a vehicle when jaywalking, as he thought the truck would stop and let him cross, which led to a tragedy. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions about whether the best approach to make roads safer is decreasing the maximum driving speed, I am of the opinion that fostering a culture of safety awareness regarding the consequences of unsafe behaviour is the most effective means.