What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

These days learning online have been increasing prevalence due to the advent of technology. As it is a cost-effective and convenient method to get educated; however, it has numerous drawbacks such as the dearth of face to face coordination and lack of classroom atmosphere. Online study offers many benefits to students. One of them is convenience. Since students are not required to sit and study at one place and at a fixed time like in classroom teaching, which means that they can pursue their course regardless of time and place according to own flexibility. Cost-effectiveness is another positive aspect. A student can gain through learning online because many adults who wish to do tertiary education is not able to continue their study due to the exorbitant cost of tuition fees. Such online courses give them a chance with a low cost not to discontinue their further studies. For instance, the Times of India reported in March 2017 that 53% of total students prefer learning online rather than classroom teaching because of the low co stcost. calculate the expense or expenses cost cost cost However, there are a lot of disadvantages to the online course. Lack of direct interaction between the teacher and student is the biggest drawback of it. In the classroom, invigilators are always there to keep an eye on pupil and guide them to understand them any query or puzzle and make them aware of making further mistakes, whereas, this concept is completely missed in online learning. As a result, there is a possibility to make error ahead of the students. Another negative factor of online study, which cannot be overlooked is missing classroom ambience. In the classroom, there is healthy competition with our friends to get good marks in subjects and teachers to teach with the help of blackboard and chalk, which is missing while learning online. For example, in India, 55% of total students who are doing online studies often quit their course in the middle due to lack of classroom atmosphere. In conclusion, although online course provides many benefits to students with low cost and flexibility, it has a number of downsides such as lack of interaction with teachers and classroom ambience.