A rise in childhood obesity is a real threat to health with an increasing number of children now classified as overweight. What are the causes of the problem and what measures can be taken to solve them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Overweight and obesity are on the rise worldwide, especially among children. If not well controlled, it can become an epidemic with serious health consequences. My essay will thoroughly analyze some major causes and propose possible solutions to the issue. First, the most likely causes of obesity are identified as an increasingly sedentary lifestyle. One contributing factor to this way of living is children's reliance on technology such as smartphones, television, for entertainment. Instead of participating in physical activities, kids sit or lie down prolongedly, spending hours with their electronic devices. The most common symptoms are early back pain, as well as the loss in concentration and memory. However, an effective remedy to an inactive lifestyle is to work small bits of exercise into one's daily routine. Children can walk at least thirty minutes a day, three times a week, or do sports such as swimming, running for better health. Second, changes in eating patterns have a great contribution to obesity. Increased consumption of fast food and sugar-rich beverages is a major cause, as these are easily accessible and heavily marketed to children. Additionally, the fast food industry is not only supported by most campaigns but also advertisements are shown daily to the public. For instance, in the United States, McDonalds, Burger King commercials are displayed on television every thirty seconds. In order to tackle the problem, families should attend nutritional classes to understand more about healthy eating habits and good dietary choices. In conclusion, there are many factors such as lifestyles and eating patterns that result in childhood obesity and there are a number of ways that could be done to counteract the problem.