Newspapers have an enormous influence on people’s opinions and ideas. Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

Newspapers have a huge impact on people's belief and the way they perceive things. In my opinion, this phenomenon is a positive one because it enlightens people with happenings around the globe and at the same time educates the public and provide opportunities such as job offers to them. Firstly, Newspaper is a medium through which people can get aquatinted with adequate knowledge of what goes around. This is because apart from television, radio and the internet, newspapers are another effective media platform that carries informative news about current happenings in the local and international scene. In addition, the newspaper is beneficial to people who do not have access to other media platforms and they can be equally informed as others. For example, people in Nigeria where there is a constant interrupted power supply, now rely on newspapers as a source of information in other to be updated with the ongoing pandemic. Secondly, people have been educated and enlightened through newspapers. Method of hand washing has been taught since the beginning of the pandemic and people have learnt how to avoid direct contact with people. Finally, jobs have been advertised in newspapers as well as scholarships, which has created opportunities for the people. Several businesses have gained customers as well as employed more people to their company. For example, 56% of the employees of NNPC confirmed that they got to know about its vacancy through their adverts on newspapers. In conclusion, newspapers have had positive effects on people's judgement and belief and at the same time, it has created job opportunities and enlightened the public.