With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

Thanks to advanced medical systems, there has been a significant increase in the elderly population. Although this growth might cause a huge challenge for the community, I totally believe that society can tackle this issue by providing robust education to citizens, especially information on exercise and nutrition. American College of Sports Science indicated that exercise is medicine, which means people, particularly the elderly, can improve and maintain their health through regular exercise. However, this knowledge hasn't been very common in some areas, such as Taiwan. Therefore, the authority should introduce some policies which encourage the elderly to take part in relevant courses. In these classes, they can learn why exercise facilitates physiological and psychological functions, and realise how to prescribe a sound training programme, thereby increasing the rate of participation in different kinds of sports. Some studies showed that the risks of some diseases, such as heart attack, metabolic syndrome, or diabetes, can be reduced by constant exercise. That is to say, the more the older population participate in exercise, the lower the pressure healthcare systems receive. Therefore, to reduce the load society has, especially on medical institutions, the government should implement some solutions to push residents to join physical activities, which can begin at educational levels. To maintain social well-being, apart from exercise, nutrition is another important aspect. Therefore, the elderly should learn the importance of nutrition. For example, they need to know how carbohydrate influences glucose control because if they do not control well, it could cause diabetes or even cancer. Also, sports scientists also need to provide older people how to consume protein-rich food. A previous study suggested that consuming enough protein, from eggs, fish, or meat, can reduce the chance of suffering from sarcopenia, which can increase all-cause mortality. Thus, not only physical activities but also nutrition should be taught in the elderly community, which can cultivate the ability they have to maintain or foster their physical and mental health. In conclusion, there have been more and more older people, which might impose society huge stress, but this issue can be resolved if we teach the elderly how to prescribe a great training plan and consume a high-quality diet.