Some people believe that the government Should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individuals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. What is your opinion? Give reason for your answer and include examples from your own experienc

It is often believed that it is the government's responsibility to take care of seniors after their retirement by providing financial support while some people are pessimistic about this, thinking it is the individual responsibility to save on their own. I partially support the latter, for growing expenses for other areas including food and education make it difficult for the authority to support seniors regardless of the fact their longevity leads to the shortage of their savings. On the one hand, the government needs to provide financial assistance to those who retire from work due to the insufficiency of their money as they tend to live longer. In other words, many seniors continue to live after they consume their savings thanks to a healthy lifestyle supported by advanced medical technology as well as nutricious meals. For instance, an average life expectancy in Japan today jumps to 85 years old, which is about 20 years longer than several decades ago. Therefore, individual savings alone do not allow them to pay for food and accommodation, promoting more poverty and mortality rates among elderies. On the other hand, individuals should support themselves as growing prices of food and education affect more people, in which the government increasingly needs to invest. Indeed, the inflation prevents more people from accessing groceries, accelerating malnutrition and poverty; one out of four children in Japan is not able to eat enough food today as the price rises dramatically by nearly 2% from last year. Furthermore, the rise in an educational cost creates a gap between the rich and the poor, which directly impacts their careers, increasing an unemployment rate of the latter. Thus, the government should distribute more money to future generations than older people to encourage their prosperity. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that individuals should take care of their own life after retirement since the public faces more threat as prices of food and education rise. However, the government should ensure a fundamental life for seniors whose life expectancy gets longer than ever before.