Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people are using the internet to make financial transactions. What can be done to tackle this problem ?

The invention of the internet has led to dramatic changes in the way information is shared and distributed. This system has introduced a big problem of cybercrimes as many people are now making online financial transactions. This essay shall explore and discuss some of the measures to combat this problem. First of all, people have started sharing sensitive data on various online platforms for making payments. This lead to online security breaches and hackers misuse this information to steal thousands of dollars in few seconds. Furthermore, there are several incidents have been reported where people gave sensitive personal details such as OTP, and ATM code to the strangers unknowingly and become victims of online thefts. Consequently, this has become a big issue now, and substantial changes should be brought into the system to save our data, and only then we can think of putting a stop on the internet crimes. To begin with, the web applications and websites who provide the facility of online money transfer should be responsible for the data of their customers. To do this, they should install robust anti-hacking software to cease the unauthorised access of the information. Moreover, they should keep a separate department whose job is to do data surveillance, and inform the higher authorities in case of security lapse. Finally, the government should implement strict rules regarding online robberies as this is a novel crime and authorities have not yet set a proper criminal code for the cyber criminals. In conclusion, although the problem of the internet crimes is not insurmountable, I believe that it is the responsibility of both the government and the payment companies. They should work together to solve this issue by considering some of the solutions proposed above.