Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Good handwriting of pupils is one of the essential skills for their academic success. The dominance of technology has changed many people's views on teaching students the art of writing. But I personally disagree that modernisation and the use of technology have made the handwriting skill obsolete. To begin with, good penmanship leads to better school performance in most of the cases. Also, it puts a solid impression on the readers or examiners. To exemplify this particular impression, 71 per cent of learners who have clear and nice handwriting, have good academic records and reputation among schoolmates and teachers. However, considering the contrary point of views that good handwriting by children is useless could be justified as the predominant use of technology where most of the writing is done on computers. Moreover, skills in technology should be one’s goal rather than only giving preferences to handwriting. Nevertheless, only reading and speaking skills are not enough for better academic performance. Practising the topics by writing it on a paper could be a much efficient way to learn. For example, in mathematics, it is helpful to practice the problems and learn the formulas by writing. Additionally, writing is also a pivotal part of communication and this skill is necessary because research shows that when children learn how to do it, they also learn how to express themselves. To conclude, it can be summarized that learning to write is indispensable which should be taught to children. Amid the sea of typed materials and digital data, handwritten materials have their own dominance, hence, handwriting skills should not be ignored.