When Designing A Building, The Most Important Factor Is The Intended Use Of The Building

It is said that the main parameter in designing a construction is its function rather than its exterior design. But I do not think a building’s use is more important than its appearance. Exterior design is as prominent as the function because it affects people’s spiritual well being. Fascinating and novel designs with a variety of colours or application of some objects like small light bulbs for light-designing in the façade of a building improves the visual beauty of the city. The beauty resulted from diversity in appearance freshens people up and they feel more alive in such Cities. This good feeling can reduce the stress and tension they face in their hectic life. So that a city with beautifully designed buildings can influence people spiritually. Moreover, Exterior designing increases job security for architects and designers. A large group of people study in universities for many years to establish their firms and work as an architect or designer. By reduction in the importance of exterior designing, many of these people have fewer jobs to do. So their job security decreases. On the other hand, considering a building’s function the most important factor in designing and pay less attention to its outward appearance is an environmentally friendly behaviour. Because construction materials needed for a building reduce. As people care less about the façade, they use these resources which are mostly unrenewable like marble stones or ornamental bricks for the façade less which is an environmentally friendly behaviour. However, there are also some environmentally friendly measures which can be taken in designing a building’s outward appearance. For Example, designing a marble stone façade will reduce electrical energy consumption used for cooling in summer as it absorbs heat less than concrete. In conclusion, although a building’s use is a prominent factor in its designing, it is not the most important one and other parameters like the outward appearance is as important.