Many people are spending a lot of money on their weddings, do you think is a good thing?

There are many moments in one’s life, and the wedding day is one of the most special ones. Different cultures have different ways to celebrate weddings, as a traditional Asian girl, I believe spending savings on a memorable wedding is worth the price. People should spend money on things that are important to them. A wedding marks the start of marriage life, and marriage is a lifelong commitment. When a couple or even two families spend a relatively large amount of money on organizing and celebrating a wedding, they are adding value to the wedding and it makes the commitment harder to break. If two people have their wedding at home in a normal setting without any relative at the site to give wishes, it costs less, but then it is just another ordinary day with nothing special to remember. Besides, from a more practical perspective, in many Asian countries, the guests that are invited to a wedding would give a “red envelope” to the marrying couple. An envelope normally has money in it, and the amount of money is associated with how grand the wedding is. That is to say, the more people spend money on the wedding, the more they would get back. That is because guests want to pay for the price of participating in a big wedding. This, in turn, saves money for the couple overall. In conclusion, whether to spend money on a wedding varies from culture to culture. However, from my personal experience, a luxurious wedding not only creates unforgettable memories for both the marrying couple and the guests but also has its economic benefits.