Eating too much sugar is harmful for our health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, the consumption of sucrose is harmful to an individual's health. As a result, some people argue that it is the government's responsibility to control the volume of sugar they eat. I partly agree with the view. While governments should implement strict measures to reduce sugar intake, individuals must take personal responsibility and comply with new policies in order for them to be truly effective. To begin with, governments can enforce strict policies that define the appropriate sucrose levels for an individual's consumption. Moreover, different measures can be used to enhance transparency between products and customers by forcing organisations to ship a mandatory nutritional score in their marketing and packaging. Furthermore, the following addition would help people to cancel items that they find unhealthy for them. However, despite the potential benefits of these strategies, a similar proposal in Italy faced significant backlash, demonstrating the complexities of implementing such strategies. On the other hand, while policies are great for setting a foundation for change, individuals must comply with the changes in order for them to be truly meaningful. However, some argue that enforcing these measures violates their right to freedom and they should be allowed to consume items according to their own will without judgements. Therefore, a lack of like-minded individuals creates a difficult situation for governments and for the following reason a person should understand their responsibility towards their personal health. In conclusion, governing bodies can implement strategies that are both meaningful and important in tackling the sugar consumption problem. However, people believe that their right to freedom allows them to eat anything they wish and with addition of a system to regulate their eating choices is a violation of their rights.