The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion mil be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Is single career outdated? It is matter of people's perspectives, because most people have different jobs that may or may not give them the time to gain some extra money through advancing their knowledge or take different responsibilities. From my point of view, while having a different profession is not a bad thing, it is not that straightforward than most people think. In this essay, I'll discuss two different cases in which people can and can't have the luxury to have several careers. To begin with, everyone knows that there are some jobs in the world that require little effort for example, cleaning houses and farming. Those people who are doing such jobs can choose to do something else that is going to enhance their knowledge and opportunities. For instance, when I was studying at a university, I took an internship as a computer network engineer, although my research direction was related to the development of computer applications. This helped me to support myself during studies and gave me a broad view of my major. In addition, after I graduated, I was working as a part-time software engineer in the morning, while fixing people's computers at night, which supported me financially. On the other hand, multifarious jobs are sophisticated that need full attention and expertise in a specific area for instance doctors and engineers. In addition, it is virtually impossible to choose any other field if a person works in such field. As a tangible example, those doctors who are experts in a specific area have higher rates of success when performing surgeries than their counterparts, who are also doctors, but have more than one occupation. This is an utter example of why some people can't afford to have another discipline, though the learning curve is continuous. In a nutshell, single career can't be defined by the words 'old fashioned'. Choosing single/multi careers depend on the its complexity, and each job cannot be considered equal.