The growing number of overweight people is putting strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the addition of more sports classes in school curriculum can solve the problem of increasing overweight among people. In my opinion, I completely agree with this notion because this approach can teach children to learn and follow a healthy lifestyle and ultimately will take off the burden of increasing number of overweight people from the health care sector. To embark on, a prominent benefit of introducing more sports lecture is that children are more likely to follow what is taught in the classroom. Therefore, if there will be more sports lecture, teachers can instill in children the habit of a healthy lifestyle. It has been proven that learning good eating habits at a younger stage remain with people throughout the life. In addition, a nowadays majority of both parents are working and they cannot monitor the eating habits of their children. So, a well informed child can follow a healthy routine and decide when and what to eat. Moreover, healthy eating habit of a person can also encourage people around to follow the same routine. However, if the problem of overweight is not controlled, then it can lead to obesity which will be worse to solve. It will not only need individual efforts, but also of government's to solve this issue of obesity. It will also pressurise government to spend more money on health care instead of other critical areas such as poverty and unemployment. That is why it is easy to prevent negative effects on health through children's food habits and activities rather than spending money on curing diseases. In conclusion, I believe that imparting physical education at the right age can help in reducing the number of overweight people.