A lot of companies and organisations require employees to wear uniforms. Which kind of jobs are uniforms suitable for? Are there any disadvantages to wearking a uniform to work?

Many jobs today and in the past have required their employees to wear uniforms. This is especially true for jobs that must be recognisable and its greatest drawback relates to resentment. The jobs that most require uniforms all relate to positions of authority. It is important for the public and other employees to be able to recognise these figures. The original example of this is soldiers who must be recognisable to their own people and each other in order to fight an enemy effectively. Today this same principle applies to authorities ranging from the police to fire fighters. There are also more civilian occupations where authority is self-evidently important such as for doctors, judges, and chefs. Even simple jobs such as working in a fast food restaurant or supermarket require uniforms in order to make it easier for customers to identify them. The disadvantage to wearing a uniform at work is the effect on morale. In some instances, uniforms can be inspiring if the employee is personally invested in the service or product the company provides. For the majority of employees, however, uniforms repress individuality and comodify. In the same way that cans of soup are wrapped in a label, an employee may come to feel like a company product. The jobs most susceptible to this will not be high-ranking ones such as a doctor, where the uniform instills pride, but lower order work such as a factory worker, cashier, or cleaner. Uniforms will likely only add to pre-existing resentment of their position in life. In conclusion, uniforms are necessary for operations but can hurt mental health in certain occupations. There is little that can be done to address the necessity of uniforms but their effects can be mitigated with compassionate company policies.