What could be done to encourage people to buy local products? An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Nowadays everybody has access of internet and technology, due to which most of the people prefer to buy all the needed things from e-commerce sites. This growing trend of online shopping has become a serious threat for the local vendors. It offers some advantages as well as disadvantages to both buyers as well as companies, which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with the positives of online shopping, it allows people to save their time and energy. People, these days, can select and buy the products at the click of a button. In other words, they can shop from the comfort of their home and no more physical visits required to the malls and shops, to buy any item. Home delivery of items allows people to save their shopping time. E-commerce has proven to be beneficial for manufacturer, too, as it helps the business owners in saving the supply chain cost. Online businesses do not need any retailer and distributors to sale their products, therefore, this result in cost reduction. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of online shopping. There is no authenticity of original products when people buy online. Many people have complained to receive fake products in the past. Also, It has some downsides for companies as they have to face a large number of competitors in the market due to globalization, so it becomes hard for them to maintain competitive advantage by offering different products. It is the need of the hour to save the small businesses by encouraging people to buy from local vendors. This can be done by educating people that their small act of getting things from local shops can help many people in earning their bread and butter. Due to online shopping trend, small business, these days, are on the verge of closing. Thus, people can help the local vendors in their earning by buying things from them. In conclusion, e-commerce help people in saving their precious time by delivering the item at their doorsteps and companies save the retail and distribution cost but there are some drawbacks too. Local business can be saved by motivating people to support small vendors.