Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

Grouping children into classes by abilities is thought to be an effective way of organizing secondary school system by some people, whereas classes with mixed-ability students seemed to be less favoured. Although there are a lot of advantages of streaming pupils, I believe that the minuses of that idea outweigh the pluses. To begin with, in the streamed classes, students are able to motivate and help out in finding solutions to complex tasks each other due to pupils demonstrate similar abilities. It means that they could achieve more difficult tasks working together and gain more knowledge. Moreover, one of the main benefits of grouping children by ability is that pupils do not stop on the same theme for certain times because they are being taught at a pace that suits their own level. In relation to that principle students would find out more about a particular subject due to they have additional time to discuss different ideas with the teacher. On the other hand, streaming children in the secondary school may harm them in the way that they do not develop their soft skills such as communication with different people. It could worsen their future career prospects. Furthermore, there is a high risk of wrong dividing pupils into classes because of some children define their interests in the high school. It leads to a situation when students do not realize what to do in future, so they need to take a gap year to find out the field of their own interests. In conclusion, streaming pupils definitely have weighty advantages, but to my point of view the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.