Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Recently, there has been a great concern about the effects of pollution on the environment. One of the main reasons for this is the huge amount of waste that is being produced these days. In this essay I am going to discuss two reasons for it and suggest solutions that governments can adopt to tackle the problem of increasing waste. I think there are two main contributing factors to the issue of increasing waste. First, is the production and second is the improper disposal. Factories and households, both produce a huge amount of waste through production and consumption respectively. This waste is either dumped in open fields, causing a number of diseases, or in the rivers, from where it either enters into oceans or is used for agriculture. Thus, adequate disposal is required, so that it does not end up causing health problems for people or kill marine life. I believe that there are two main things that the governments can do to mitigate the problem of excessive waste. Firstly, the governments can make clear and transparent policies regarding where, and how the factories may dispose their waste material. These regulations should be imposed with utmost strictness. Secondly, government can educate people about this issue, so that they can self-monitor the amount garbage produced by each household. In conclusion, both industrial and household garbage has contributed to a rapid increase in waste production. This can be curbed by the governments, by bringing strict guidelines and making people responsible for their actions. This will lower the ill effects of pollution on the environment.