Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that government should use more expenditure for improving and building railways instead of making a better road system. In my opinion, authority should spend money on both railways and roads. On the one hand, spending budget on high quality structures for trains helps people to travel at higher speed and more convenient. Because of the heavy traffic jam in big cities, going by train is becoming more common than ever before. Thus, the growth in building and making better structures which may benefit people in spending less time on travelling between crowded areas is important. For example, commuters can choose to go to work in 15 minutes by subway instead of taking a 40-minute bus. Besides, they may not have to stand among lots of strangers, just sit down and relax, the train will bring you to your destination as fast and safe as possible. On the other hand, upgrading the road system can lessen the traffic jam during rush hours. People tend to possess their own private cars, so it is essential to use more money to make a better version travelling mode. For instance, they can extend the road to ensure that a large number of cars can go through easily. This means that transporting products, moving will be less time-consuming activities. As a result, people can make use of the remaining time to do others useful things. In conclusion, people have their own opinions on the idea of whether the expense should be spent on railways or roads, but it seems to me that both worth spending expenditure on.