In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent days, youngsters have shifted their focus from enrolling in university paths to pursuing vocational training. In my opinion, while on-the-job training has some advantages, it also presents many drawbacks. This essay evaluates whether the benefits outweigh the disadvantages when considering this choice. One of the main advantages of choosing work-based training is that workers-to-be have the opportunity to enter the job market earlier with a focus on a specific matter. In today's fast-paced world, the skills needed at work are continuously reshuffled and may be wise to focus on shortly work programmes which impart targeted abilities. For example, IBM Academy every years proposes different vocational training aiming to prepare youngsters to develop knowledge immediately spendable in the labour market. Moreover, by working just after ending the training course, young start to collect experiences and understand what better fits with their inclination. However, plenty of jobs now require profound knowledge and an held degree which certifies them. In fact, academic degrees require study and training, which help cultivate a deeper understanding of different topics and abilities that apprenticeships often don't provide. While enrolling in tertiary education often takes more time and engagement, this time allows a comprehensive exploration of the matter. Additionally, academic courses usually couple learning-by-book with learning-by-doing, which means that students have also the chance to practice what they have studied with a real experience. In conclusion, I believe that work-based training is well-suited for individuals who want to not spend time in studying before starting work and have skills that match job demands. However, in a long-term perspective, academic degrees ultimately provide a more in-depth understanding of subjects and can lead to higher-paying jobs