PEOPLE ARE LIVING LONGER NOWADAYS. THERE SHOULD BE AN INCREASE IN RETIRE AGE. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

The life expectancy in developed countries significantly increased over the last century. The rise exerts a big pressure on financial institutions with enlarged pension costs and elderly care expenses and also originates a discussion about regulation the pension age in line with the average lifespan. I believe that such a measure is beneficial for both public finance and retirees and it brings more advantages than disadvantages. With regard to an economic side, it's seen that many countries rely on pension scheme where the contributions from a working population cover the benefits for retirees. In an era of demographic ageing, maintaining the sustainability of such a system can be both complex and challenging. Moreover, as found in latests studies, there could be a few ways of adjusting the current system: to redistribute the income from workers to retirees, to lower the allowance benefits or to increase the pension age. The third alternative seems to be the most beneficial as it would not only increase the labour market, but also simultaneously decrease the amount of retirees. Given to the latest theories on the correlation between later retirement and longevity, there are a few interesting findings. Despite the fact that in developing countries the trend towards early retirement is still noticed, there is also a confirmation that later pension date may affect the longevity and the quality of life for the elderly in the very positive way. First of all, it may delay when people's physical and cognitive functioning starts to decline, because work keeps mind and body active. Furthermore, staying socially active and engaged also reduce the stress and promote well being in overall. To summarize, delayed retirement is not only one of the necessary measures of the fiscal authorities, but also a great chance to reduce mortality after retirement for elderly by giving a chance to stay active, socialized and engaged. I believe that it is would be great if people have a chance to slowly transition into retirement, working part-time or doing other activities, so they will stay socially active, but in a way that's beneficial for their health.