The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekends. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that there should be longer weekends and shorter working weeks. I totally disagree with this statement. I believe that the proposed time repartition between worktime and days off could demoralise workers as well as reduce their productivity and impact negatively in the overall economic situation in the world. Workers need motivation and purpose to continue their work, which is why more days off would be less likely to help than our regular timetable. Having 48 hours of rest after five days of labour is what makes them special; they leave us the time to do what we want without altering our perception of worktime being the main reason why we sustain ourselves. Therefore, 72 hours instead of the standard 48 would probably make us ungrateful for the spare time given to us, since we did not work as much to deserve it. For instance, coming home to a 72-hour-long pause could potentially make us less eager to make the most out of it since it is not as hard-earned as before. Production speed is crucial in modern societies since it sustains the economy, thus guaranteeing sustainable employment conditions. However, if employees were authorised to have a longer break, this decision could negatively impact society because production would drop and cause economic instability in the country. For example, in the Dominican Republic, in 1999, the people were granted a free Monday. Consequently, the carbon extraction business, on which the country deeply relied in terms of revenue, started to sell less carbon, and the economy fell. To conclude, some individuals would like to have a longer break. Nonetheless, I think this decision could trigger a lack of motivation in employees and a loss in terms of production that could negatively influence the economy.