The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our modern society, many people argue that the large amount of funding spent on the repairing and maintenance of old buildings could be more efficiently utilized in other important public services, such as housing projects and transportation development. I completely agree with this statement, and in this essay, I shall further critically examine the given topic and outline relevant examples to support my view. Today, in many countries, the government often invests millions of dollars in order to preserve ancient establishments, while this money could be used to improve existing services or issues in the society. For instance, the government can use these funds to provide affordable housing plans for the public. In addition, by removing old structures, more space can be obtained for the construction of other more beneficial places. Moreover, even today, poor road conditions are still a prominent issue in many nations. Thus, if more financial resources become available, these types of problems could be resolved effectively. For example, a report published by the Oxford University revealed that currently worldwide more than 11.5 billion dollars are spent on the restoration of the historical monuments, that now do not hold any sentimental or cultural significance among the public. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of the subject, I am inclined to stand in support of my opinion that the government should stop funding the repairing work for old buildings and utilize this money on improving the road or housing services.