One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Enhanced healthcare has resulted in societies with individuals who are enjoying increased lifespans and better life expectancy. In my opinion, I think that the opportunity to live a joyful and fulfilling life as a result of people experiencing longer and improved lifespan, outweighs any drawbacks. Despite of the disadvantages below, improved and longer life outcomes result in people enjoying their lives to the fullest. In other words, they can lead a much happy and fulfilled life, one obvious reason being that we want to have our families and friends, especially parents, around for as long as possible. Furthermore, they can enjoy their life pursuits and goals that they have set for themselves, consequently, enriching both their lives as well as those associated with them and the society at large. Another point to consider is that grandparents can provide an invaluable source of help and support for their children, guiding them and imparting important life lessons. Admittedly, there are some basic disadvantages of people enjoying a longer lifespan, such as an increased number of elderly people putting an economic burden on the society. For example, the government would have to provide larger post retirement pension benefits and, therefore, could result in a scenario where more money is being taken out by older people than they have put in their retirement plans. In addition, people living longer could also mean that they are staying in the workforce longer. This makes it challenging for the recently graduated younger generation to find jobs, which could result in increased unemployment. However, both these issues can be addressed by proper economic planning and foresight by the government. In conclusion, as a result of the advances in the medical field, people are living longer, which is allowing them to lead happier and enriching lives and it far outweighs any drawbacks of this trend.