The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that businesses should put the most focus on making money without any social responsibilities. I partially agree with this, for it should contribute to economic expansion, which benefits the public regardless of its increasing role in protecting the environment. On the one hand, businesses should focus on creating more money since it leads to the improvement of people's lives. In other words, when companies are successful in gaining more investment, workers can expect higher salaries, which allow them to have a more satisfactory life. For instance, people can afford to purchase sufficient food as well as luxurious vehicles and properties when business prospers. Thus, it not only eliminates poverty but also reduces criminal activities which often result from a severe shortage of money. On the other hand, the role of companies is not merely restricted to economic growth but they need to take initiative in solving various social issues. Indeed, companies should be responsible for the growing damage imposed on the environment from their increasing emissions of polluted gas and water. Furthermore, an accelerating level of CO2 and nitrogen contributes to a rising global temperature, bringing more serious consequences for wildlife in the future. Therefore, they are more encouraged to take environment-friendly acts such as promoting recycling and reducing their reliance on biofuel. In conclusion, I somewhat believe that the primary role of business is to make more money as it directly leads to the happiness of people and a decline in criminal activities promoted by the lack of money. However, industries should be responsible, especially for preserving nature as environmental destruction has become a more threatening social issue.