The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise. Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

As per many, the most critical challenge facing humanity today is the ever increasing population. There are several causes for this rise, such as better health care and disease prevention. In my opinion, I think that the issues posed by environmental problems are a bigger threat to mankind as compared to the population rise. The continuing increase in the world population can be attributed to the improved and enhanced medical facilities and healthcare systems. In other words, there have been tremendous and rapid strides in the prevention and treatment of diseases, which, coupled with a large body of research and easy availability of effective and potent drugs and their delivery, have resulted in a large proportion of the people surviving health problems that were considered fatal in the past. Another important factor that has resulted in a growth in the world population is the ever decreasing infant mortality rate. Consequently, the number of babies succumbing to diseases or infections during the critical first few months of their life is almost miniscule. This has been possible due to vastly improved neo-natal and pre-natal care. Even though, the global population increase poses many challenges, in my opinion, I believe that the serious challenge posed by environmental issues is the most urgent and critical problem facing the globe today. The earth faces an existential threat due to the rapidly deteriorating environment and the strain it puts on the resources required to sustain an increasing population. Furthermore, issues such as greenhouse gasses, global warming and water shortages put the survival and the future of the majority of cities worldwide in jeopardy. Consequently, entire cities could be flooded, resulting in the displacement of millions of people or even worse, large scale fatalities if no immediate action is taken. In conclusion, the need of the hour is to urgently address the serious and potentially life threatening challenges the world is facing due to environmental problems.