Many governments are investing less in roads and more in public transport systems. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

These days, many governments are allocating their more fund towards public transport and less on roads. In my view, the advantage of this trend far outweighs the disadvantage, because not only will it reduce the traffic congestion and air pollution, but also the number of road accidents. Admittedly, one of the main disadvantages of investing less funds on the improvement of roads is that it will slow down the economy. As there are many industries in the cities that are totally depend on their suppliers to supply the basic raw material, as these suppliers are operated in the other part of the city. For instance, if there is no construction of national highways or improvement on the existing roads, there will be a lot of delay in receiving the key ingredients to many manufacturing companies. As a result, the finished goods or essential goods will not reach to the consumers on time, and the whole economic system will get disturbed. Despite mentioning the drawback, there are many advantages of this trend. Firstly, the level of air pollution and the traffic problem will be solved. It is true that these days, many countries are facing severe problems, such as the high level of air pollution and traffic congestion. If the government improves trains, buses and tubes, these problems will be solved easily. For instance, the Japanese Government, every year allocates its 50% of revenue towards an improvement in the public transport than roads, resulting in the reduction of air pollution by 5% and the traffic congestion by 10%. Secondly, there would be less road accidents. This is because, the majority of the population would use public transport system, so there could be less cars on the road. Therefore, the chances of accidents on the road and highway would be far less than present. In conclusion, the economy will have adverse effects if the government does not increase its fund for the improvement of roads as most industries will not be able to get their raw material on time. Nonetheless, in my opinion, the advantage of this development outweighs this downside, as it will reduce the road accidents, air pollution and traffic.