Nowadays, there is a growing trend of private car ownership. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages or environmental problems associated with this?

Private cars have become widely used vehicles for many people nowadays. I think, the advantages of this trend for individuals come over its drawbacks for our surroundings, because harm which our nature receives from private cars is too little to take into account. Undeniably, cars are considered one of the contributors to the damage of our unique environment. Evidently, such vehicles cause some unstoppable levels of air pollution. An increasing number of private cars, thus, may be harmful to our natural habitat and even our existence. However, apart from private cars, there exists even greater potential harm to our flora and fauna by the side of the factories and some industries, I believe. As detrimental effects of private vehicles on our climate is nothing towards aforementioned giant harms. According to the report of world-famous ecological organization- Greenpeace, negative impacts of cars on our environment is equal to one tenth of the harmful effects of the giant industries worldwide. From the other point of view, private cars come in handy for people at any time. In my opinion, humans, therefore, opt for buying them. Moreover, their usage also is increasing day by day, due to their wide range of convenient aspects. To be precise, private cars offer their owners good air-conditioning, stereo systems and, obviously, high speed, which all of them rarely bears on other types of transportation. By this way, private cars ease the life of humans, as all of them are able to commute everywhere they want, simply by driving rather than relying on some other types of vehicles. For example, a recent survey conducted by the International Driving Agency can prove my stand. The findings of the survey revealed that almost all of car owners fully satisfied from their cars and they admitted that private cars as the best option among other means of transportation. In conclusion, although cars can damage the environment by polluting air, their merits, like the most striking – comfortability for their owners, visibly outweigh their above mentioned dark sides, I opine.