Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to promote gender equality in every aspect of life, it is believed that there should be the same numbers of men and women accepted to each major of universities. However, I completely disagree with this opinion because of several reasons. Not every university courses have an equal proportion between male and female students applying. In fact, there are some courses receive the much bigger sum of applications from men or women than the other side. For example, major of engineering is more common with male students than females. Therefore, it is extremely difficult for universities or college to gain the standard quantity of female applicants. Moreover, accepting students based on sex is not equitable. Under the circumstance that there are a lot of students who is potential, but in the bigger size side, they will have to compete fiercely with each other and many of them will lose the educational opportunities in students who have the lower level but in the other side. Thus, both males and females deserve to receive the chances to have a fair competition, which means universities or colleges should choose the best. In conclusion, I believe that universities should enrol students based on quality but not on quantity, in order to assure practicality and impartiality.