In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

The more developed the economy becomes, the more citizens decide to purchase food from overseas instead of their own nation's one. This essay will illustrate possible causes that explain this phenomenon and suggest some feasible solutions. There is a growing tendency in consuming imported food nowadays. Firstly, with the fast pace of life as well as globalisation, people always want to try something new and different with higher quality. They may get bored and lose interest in local food products. Because those goods are too familiar with them. Therefore, consumers tend to ignore food grown from the homeland and so they buy others produced by farmers from different countries all around the world. Besides, there is a huge amount of imported food having higher quality. Despite high prices, inhabitants are willing to buy them because they believe that with higher nutrients, they are better for their health as well as their development. For instance, grapes, apples or cherries from nations such as America, Australia are always welcomed enthusiastically. To encourage consumers to buy food produced locally, these following suggestions should be taken into consideration. Food companies should promote advertising campaigns on social media effectively. This lets citizens get more information about food products. In addition, governments should join hands in tackling the issue. Local authority ought to subsidize money and make new policies for food industry. Hence, food companies are able to upgrade and more develop. Thanks to this, they will produce more food products having high quality and meet the demands of residents. For what have been discussed above, I may draw the conclusion that although foreign food is very popular in recent years, people should pay more attention to local food not only due to its quality but also to promote the development of domestic economy.