Computers and AI technology are increasingly used for online education. Can artificial intelligence enhance the learning experience? Is this a positive or negative development? (VMN)

In recent years, AI and computers have gradually evolved in learning online. It is the writer’s opinion that artificial intelligence provides faster and easier access to relevant materials than the traditional way, giving more conveniences in the learning experience; despite the fact that it can significantly decline the learners’ curiosity as well as easily make them get lost in that massive references’ space without a proper guide. It is undeniable that modern technology has improved strongly, given the advent of automation and, recently, artificial intelligence (also known as AI). Thanks to its ability to search in the huge Internet library of knowledge and give a wide range of mentioned matters within a moment, AI is increasingly assisted or even replaced humans in many jobs, including teaching. From the perspective of those who use AI during the learning journey, it is beneficial to get the necessary material or satisfying answers for a certain problem with less time and effort wasted. Chat GPT is a prime example, which many university students use to help them write their final essay or prepare for the presentation. Thus, the experience of studying will be effectively enhanced. However, there are some flaws caused by these modern technologies, adversely affecting the quality of learning. Being over-dependent on AI’s support, the learners can be easily lazy to curiously discover anything new, leading to the deterioration of the true value of gaining knowledge. Furthermore, in the spacious library of information on the Internet, without accurate guidance or particular aim, they can be lost, frustrated, and therefore have no improvement in the study. These can be seen as the ‘dark sides’ of technological development. All in all, technology, especially AI, gives a wide extent of necessary knowledge effectively, helping to speed-boost the studying progress. Still, there are certain negative impacts that the latest technology has on students’ emotions of learning, which are highly advised to be avoided.