Today, TV channels broadcast man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal showtime for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Nowadays, male’s sport shows account for the most of streaming time on TV than female’s programs. In this essay, I will speculate the reasons behind the phenomenon and points out why an equal coverage for the two genders is not necessary. It is clear that TV channels almost give time for men’s sport show because of two main reasons. Firstly, women are not interested in watching sport shows than men, they only care for fashion or beauty shows. Secondly, since the rating of male's sports is always higher than women's, more viewers mean more profit. Take football as an example, the SEA game football match in 2019 between Vietnam and Thailand, which attracted a million viewers not only Vietnamese but also the people around Asia to watch. The TV producer got back a hundred million from the sponsorships and each view turns on the YouTube channel. While the figure for women’s match was significantly lower. Giving men’s sport a higher priority is, therefore, a wise strategy to earn large profits and attract more investment. On the other hand, I totally agree that women athletes should have a chance to show their talents to the world, with the extended time on TV, they can have more effort to contribute their talents for country's sport. However, a research also pointed out that the performance of women in athletic competition is considered as less important and less exciting by women themselves, let alone men. In conclusion, men's sport tv shows can make more benefit than those of women and the fact that men’s shows might be more appealing. Therefore the effort to equalize the TV broadcast show of these two genders on sport channels is unnecessary.