Some people think that the best way to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, environmental issues have never failed to draw public attention. Some people stated that a rise in the cost of fuel is the only way to improve this problem. In my opinion, increasing in petrol price may be reasonable to some extent; however, this solution remains several drawbacks. On the one hand, setting a higher cost for fossil fuel will be beneficial in some aspects of alleviating severe pollution problems nowadays. Firstly, the rate of air pollution will improve significantly as the amount of carbon emission decreases. Since people are restricted to travelling by vehicles, they would commute on foot or by bicycles more often, which, in turn, reduces a considerable amount of carbon footprint released per day. Secondly, the solution also assists in preventing the dramatic degradation of renewable resources. As less fuel is consumed, the frequency of exploitation of natural resources will gradually lessen over time, allowing them to renew faster. On the other hand, there will doubtlessly occur some problems when establishing fuel price escalation. It is evident that the decline in petrol consumption will result in a loss of profit for the petroleum industry. As the number of fuel consumers decreases, it will be a daunting task for companies to maintain due to the lack of operating expenditure; some may even undergo bankruptcy. Moreover, higher costs of fuel may bring about shrinkage in daily expenses for people, especially those who accommodate in rural areas. Consequently, they will have to cut down on the money spared for other basic needs; hence, their life standard may be negatively impacted. In conclusion, the concerns about the surrounding environment can be mitigated by increasing the price of petrol; nevertheless, some existing disadvantages should be taken into great consideration for the sake of a society.