In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

Many developed countries are experiencing substantial in expectancy life. This essay will highlight several main problems and proposes some possible approaches to decrease the adverse effects caused by older populations. One of the major challenges of the growing population of elderly people that it puts a burden on the health care system. Older people prone to chronic diseases such as heart attacks or diabetes that require special medical treatments to be treated effectively. The government might dedicate a larger budget to health care in order to serve the growing needs of the aging population. Another problem facing a country with an increase in the percentage of retirees who claiming pension benefits, and a reduction of the proportion of working-age people who subject to income tax. The combination of higher pension and lower tax revenue can seriously impact the government spending and the economy as the whole. The state can come out with measures to address increasing life expectancy issues. The first solution would be to increase the importance of the private sector in the supply of health care services and pensions. This would reduce the burden on government spending. Another measure would be encouraging the immigration of young people, adults, which could help increase the tax revenues for the government. Finally, it is important to educate people about the importance of managing and saving money for retirement. By doing this, people reach the statutory retirement age, they will have a certain amount of money to take responsibility for themselves without depending on their children or the authority. In conclusion, various steps could be taken to tackle the problems that a country with an ageing population might encounter.