In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most challenging problems of today’s society is the question who should be responsible for our old people. It’s not only a financial dilemma, but also a question of the system we want our humanity to have. In my essay I would like to consider different models. Firstly, the company can be responsible for their retired employees. For this reason a special fund could be established. The advantage of this model is, if you believe in the capitalist system, that it should be the cheapest quick fix. A possible trouble is that the companies might have competition disadvantage due to higher staff costs. A second explanation is that the government has to have the responsibility for the old people’s case. It can finance this with its tax incomes. Actually, this is the most democratic miniature since everybody gets as much money as he or she needs. Unfortunately, as the present situation in our culture shows, this result seems not to work very well. The government can no longer afford to support all the old peoples. Another way of solving this obstacle is to give such the responsibility to the individual that means that everybody has to save money during their working life for the time after their retirement. This seems to be not a very fair exemplary because there will certainly exist people who can’t afford to save part of their salary. In this case the government would have to save for them. A last quick fix is to go back to the old miniature of “the big family” who cares for all their members. I don’t think this is possible in our day’s world because the family structures have so much changed. To sum up, I have to admit that I can’t find a real good explanation for this headache all models have advantages and disadvantages. Certainly we have to think about this topic much more in the future.