Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, it is often believed that people are presented with greater number of options in life. I completely agree with this thought as advancements in technology and globalisation have allowed people to choose from a plethora of opportunities. Firstly, in the field of art and education, people have been given a wider range of choices. With the help of latest technology, students could decide what to study, where to study and when to study. For example, earlier when students are left with fewer choices, they are mostly influenced by their immediate family member's decisions on their university education. Whereas nowadays, they are able to decide on their field of interest based on the information available on the internet. This was not the case couple of decades earlier as the information was not freely available to everyone. Thus, technology empowers students to decide on their future. Secondly, entertainment is another area that benefited mostly due to globalisation and new ways of sharing information. For instance, in the early 80s, there was only one state run television channel in India. However, when India opened its economy to the outside world, a huge number of foreign broadcasters started their operations. Consequently, now India is one of the nations where there are more than 500 television channels catering to people of different states, cultures and languages. Due to this, now people have so many choices of entertainment in India. In conclusion, technological advancements and globalisation has left people with an unimaginable number of opportunities. It is up to the people to use these choices to their advantage.