Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

While History is considered by many one of the most crucial academic subjects, others believe that nowadays Technology and Science have taken the place of History in terms of importance. In my point of view, I firmly believe that today's developments in science and technology owe their advancements to history, therefore this subject should maintain its importance in the academic curriculum. It is believed by many that given the recent technological and scientific advancements, subjects related to these two matters should be valued the most by schools and universities. They may argue that since history belongs to the past, it should not be considered and studied by modern generations. To illustrate, in 2010, the University of Michigan made a decision based on a survey conducted on some of their pupils to suspend history subjects for a specified duration on a trial basis. However, soon after this unanimous decision, repercussions began to emerge, and remarkable academic failures were being reported by professors, complaining about their pupil's lack of knowledge in History. I personally, argue that we should consider the fact that the modern world's inventions and discoveries in science and technology have an integral relationship with history. In simpler terms, human beings’ innovations in terms of making a discovery or inventing a device will not be achievable, unless a precise analysis is done on previous models or theories, made by pioneers. For instance, although the invention of today's planes is accredited by the Wright brothers, they were inspired by Da Vinci's drawings illustrated in their history books. In conclusion, although it is thought by many that History should be replaced by Science and Technology, in terms of importance in academic curricula, I strongly assert that History has an integral connection with today’s developments, and disregarding it might bring about long-term repercussions.