Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups, however, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these days social media are widely used by persons of all age groups. While there are numerous benefits of using social media platforms, sharing some private information on these platforms have hazardous effects also. Yes, I believe that the disadvantages of social media are outweighed by its advantages. Let us discuss its merits and demerits in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, there are multifarious advantages of social media. First and foremost, by using social media one can connect with people living in different parts of the earth. To elaborate, since everyone does not get an opportunity to travel to different places in the world, good friends can be made over the internet through the social media applications such as Facebook or Instagram. In addition, with the help of social media the knowledge about the cultures and settlements of other countries and territories can be gained. To clarify, as people usually upload pictures and videos of different places on social media platforms, somebody residing in another part of the earth can see the region and through chatting one can get proper knowledge of the culture of a specific place from the native people of that place. To cite an example, an article published in the Tribune by its editor in chief on Social Interactions through Web in May, 2019 stated that proper knowledge can be acquired from the aboriginals of an area through social media sites. Furthermore, social media help an individual to share his feelings and thoughts with large number of people throughout the planet. To substantiate, in order to make his message to reach thousands of people, social media sites can be used and one can get comments over his thought from people throughout the world. To illustrate, through social media sites such as Facebook a person can be available to thousands of people where he can share his ideas. On the contrary, there are numerous drawbacks as well of social media. Primarily, by sharing personal information over the social sites, a person can be caught in a major problem. To explain, if a person shares his personal information such as updating the status of travelling to a foreign country or state, he might get his house robbed by thieves. Moreover, as social media connect millions of people throughout the world, any false news can go viral in fraction of seconds after the social media websites which could pose disastrous threats. To explicate, since there are some anti-social elements also present on the social media who want to disturb the peace, they share fake news to divide communities or to initiate riots. For example, in February, 2020 riots took part in New Delhi, the capital of India, which were initiated by a terrorist through delivering fake video of destroying a religious place of Hindus on Facebook and Whatsapp, both social media sites. To conclude, although there are some undesirable impacts of social media, I believe that the positives of using social media overlap its negatives. If people use social media apps with some caution, it would bring people across the globe together by spreading peace and harmony.