The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The discussion about whether or not the state should invest more in prevention rather than treatment of diseases is very controversial. There are people on both sides of the statement who have very strong  views. Personally, I think that prevention should be made a priority when it comes to health care. Firstly, spending more money on raising the awareness of the residents could eliminate a variety of health problems. Undeniably, a large number of the citizens lack common knowledge about the root causes and symptoms of some kinds of illnesses. As a result, holding more public campaigns to spread the information on health promoting can considerably help in preventing the health problems to emerge. For example, keeping the environment where one lives dry, clean and hygienic may limit the chances for malaria to arise. Furthermore, promoting a healthy diet and regular exercise, which can be taken by municipal authorities. Such exercise strengthens bones and muscles, thus helps avoid various health problems such as obesity or even heart attack and cancer. Secondly, state funding should also be shared more for the healthcare services and supervision. Offering more free health -check points in the hospitals can encourage people to check their fitness more frequently, which helps identify the serious health problems since the early periods. Instead of paying a great deal of money on curing the disease, which sometimes cannot be healed as it is detected too late, people should find ways to protect their fitness. What is more, tightening the safety procedures on food production and distribution can make an enormous difference in increasing the public health. As the recent years have witnessed the appearance of a rising number of restaurants and food stores, more food poisoning cases are recorded in hospitals. It is, thus, necessary for the government to pay more attention to the cuisine safety issue in the feed supply chain. In conclusion, I strongly believe that more effort and money should be put on well-being issues, prevention rather than cure by the government.