Some people think that interview is not reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In recent years, many people argue that interviews are no longer the best option to select a candidate for a job, and there are many other alternatives for the selection. I strongly agree with this view, as face-to-face interviews bring many complications. In this essay, we will discuss why this is the case and then come to a suitable conclusion. The main reason why I support this view is that, traditional interviewing method is highly misused since the global rise in technology. It makes it easier for people to get the knowledge about the interview questions through data without having any hands-on experience. For example, if a person is applying for the role of a team lead at a company, he/she can easily gather the information on various tasks and duties for the role through the internet, and can easily use the same data in the interview to get the job. Moreover, another important point to consider is that, face-to-face interviews do not help in jobs requiring practical knowledge. For instance, working in a field or in a manufacturing unit will require a lot of experience with handling different kinds of tools and ideas on various materials. Interviewing a candidate for these roles makes it really difficult for employers, as they cannot judge whether they will have any kind of practical knowledge or not. In conclusion, although the traditional interviewing method is used by most organisations across the world, I firmly believe that employers should not just rely on it, and new techniques for selection should be implemented, designing the interview process according to the job duties.