The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Health infrastructure is one of the rudimentary needs of the citizens of a country. Whether the government should spend its money to prevent the health problems or illness more than on treatment and medicine has become a contentious topic. In my opinion, it is absolutely necessary to invest in treatment and medicine. Apparently, there are various health problems which cannot be completely prevented or eradicated. For instance, hereditary problems are passed from one generation to another and it is impossible to prevent that from happening. Moreover, there are such problems for which vaccination has not been found till date even after huge investments. To name some are common cold, cough etc. So, it is implausible to completely eradicate these problems even if the government tries to work on it. Therefore, a better funding is needed on health care in terms of medication so that they are not fatal. Likewise, it has been observed that new diseases and virus are evolving every day, which have a serious detrimental effect on human health. For instance, an ongoing pandemic around the globe of COVID-19 is due to the evolved version of previous existed virus of SERS and MERS, which completely vanished few years back. However, the changes in the RNA of the virus resulted in the current situation, which could not have been prevented beforehand. Thus, even if huge investments are made to prevent these situations, it would be extremely difficult to predict an emergency where a new kind of illness starts affecting humans. To conclude, although it is necessary to fund research so as to prevent problems, but a far greater investment is needed in medicine and treatment as due to changes in lifestyle, the health problems are continually changing and which are even unpredictable. Therefore, a better healthcare system would help to handle these unexpected situations.