Some people think rapid population growth in cities only benefits people who live there, while others believe that it has negative impacts. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, urbanisation has become a pressing concern. Some individuals assert that the rise of population in cities is advantageous for the residents, while others opine it has adverse impacts. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives along with my opinion in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, it is considered worthwhile for residents of the cities to have more inhabitants. First and foremost, is the development of the infrastructure, as when more people are residing in the city centre, the higher authorities need to invest more in providing better services to their residents. For instance, in cities such as Mumbai, where the population is rising, the government is utilising more funding for better amenities such as health, education and others. This would ultimately lead to the growth of the metropolitan area. Apart from this, more businesses are being established in the urban areas to meet the job demands in the market, which in turn raises the living standard of people. On the other hand, this trend has negative impacts that cannot be ignored. A high number of vehicles on the roads gives birth to traffic congestion and diffusion of harmful gases, which have a detrimental impact on the flora and fauna. For example, in Delhi, where the population is rising at an alarming rate, people are facing the problem of high levels of air pollution, which are causing the birth of several diseases. Moreover, when more people are living in city centres, there are fewer chances of securing jobs. As individuals have more experience and relevant skills, then businesses give their priority to hiring employees with more experience. In conclusion, according to my opinion, individuals have to think wisely about when moving to cities for a better future. They should also consider the negative impacts of city life on their personal and professional lives.