Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Communication and relationships are two stand-out parameters that distinguish human beings from animals. However, of late, it has been hugely influenced by technological advancements. Admittedly, it has affected these practices in several ways that I find negative. To begin with, the pace of communication has been accelerated by the technology which bridges the gap between geographical boundaries by bringing people from different parts of the world together. It has increased the sense of belongingness that otherwise might be missed in the absence of technology. Technological gadgets despite being artificial have made communication easier than before and thereby the human relationship is improved a great deal. The speed of the communication makes people, who are apart, into a closely knit unit that makes the human relationship more enjoyable and more durable. To illustrate, my relationship with my brother who has been overseas for years has grown thicker and more stable by chatting on mobile apps like WhatsApp and Facebook. The physical isolation despite living in a closed community is a destructive effect brought about by the influence of technology. Consequently, human relationship is made superficial in both integrity and reliability. It makes life too selfish to be depended on. The elderly are the one who bears the brunt of the technological development as it alienates them from the mainstream. Technological development being synonymous with self centred ness and egoism breeds inhospitality by which people lose their compassion and warmth. Hence people are made to live in virtual island cut off from the reality. The worst part of the technology is that the distant world is made closer and the near distance. For example; my sister, a technophile obsessed with the latest electronic gadgets, always chats with friends on social networking sites but finds little time to interact with me. That being said, technology hugely affects the way people interact and how they keep relationships which in turn results in artificiality, lack of compassion, self-centeredness and egoism. Even though technology in a way is a blessing in terms of reduced distance, bringing people together, unfettered use of it might destroy the softness of human relationship and genuinely of their communication. So, using technology without losing the human relationship is the need of the hour.