The main visitors to museums and historical sites are tourists, not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to these places

Recently, museums and historical sites have become tourist attractions for foreign visitors in spite of locals. This essay will analyze the reasons for this phenomenon as well as solutions to encourage locals to visit. To begin with, there are several main reasons why tourists are interested in museums and historical sites. One of the reasons is that people in that area are familiar with their traditional cultures and history so they will spend their spare time exploring new cultures and unknowns in other places. Moreover, foreign visitors tend to go to places that they have never gone to in order to have a better understanding of local culture and also it can be costly for the people at that place. For example, Lang Son is one of the expensive destinations that need to have money to visit, which is a barrier for the locals, but for international tourists is not a problem. However, there are many measures that can be taken to stimulate more local inhabitants to visit museums and historical places. Firstly, the government can create lower admission fees or offer discount tickets to the locals to encourage them to visit these historical attractions. Furthermore, museums should use a system of special exhibits that are replaced after a few months to attract more people. For instance, the Ho Chi Minh History Museum in Vietnam regularly hosts various exhibitions, which attract millions of visitors every year. In conclusion, it is undeniable that in many regions tourists have more interest in visiting museums and historical areas than local residents do. However, there are many measures that can be taken to tackle this problem.