Due to the effects of globalization, the culture of some countries are influenced by others. Some people think this is a positive process. Others think this is a threat to cultural identity. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In modern times, the process of intercontinental integration is a matter of central concern of each nation. While some people claim that cross-cultural values could bring about significant benefits, others believe that this process may have adverse effects on the national cultural uniqueness. This essay will examine both sides and argue that a country may benefit greatly from this continental process. On the one hand, there are several reasons why critics believe that globalization is a negative process. One of the most prominent reasons is that it is likely to cause assimilation, which leads to the disappearance of national customs. This is because when native people adopt the other countries’ customs, they gradually forget the traditional values of their own country. For example, nowadays, Korean music is immensely popular among Vietnamese young people, and as a result, the young generation is oblivious of the traditional Vietnam music such as soft music, bolero and other kinds of music. Therefore, cultural globalization certainly has a negative impact on the cultural uniqueness of a country. On the other hand, I tend to agree with the view in favour of the increased globalization of culture. Since cultural globalization may reduce the cultural barriers between countries. Thanks to globalization, a country easily access to the other country ’s believes and behaviours, and has an opportunity to access the others’ cultures. For instance, in the 19th century, some languages such as Korean and Vietnamese were borrowed from Chinese, and were transformed into their languages. That being said, the intercontinental process makes the cultural exchange become straightforward and this is beneficial for cultural identities. In conclusion, while cultural globalization brings an adverse impact on cultural identity, I hold the belief that this process is valuable in terms of exchanging culture. If a nation is able to acculturate to others’ culture reasonably, it will create a multicultural country.